LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

dhaval   24 March 2017

Intercaste marriage protection laws

I am a resident of gujarat. Me and my partner, (I'd like to mention her as my wife) are willing to register our marriage. My family has agreed to our relationship. But the girl belongs to higher caste, and thus following the rudimentary caste system, her parents are against our marriage. We are not worried about our marriage at all, we could carry out all the processes smoothly. Our main concern is, how could we protect ourselves from the life threatening situations created by her family? Aren't there any laws which would protect us from false cases that her parents would file against us? Is there any way we could inform police stations previously so that they wouldn't accept any case against us? Is there any way to previously mention in the court that the girl has married me out of her free will and whatever questions the family raises against us are completely false? What are the preventive measures through which we could make sure that my wife's parents would not try to harm me or my family?

Learning

3 Replies

(Guest)
Originally posted by : dhaval