LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Shal Rohan (Chartered Accountant)     18 October 2009

Father son property dispute

I have invested my past 12 years of earnings in a house property (including land), which unfortunately as I was abroad i sent the money to my father to buy the land and build the house. Which he built in his name. Now the land and the house are in his name. He threatens me to give it away to my sisters. I am the coapplicant to the loan taken for that house. I have been paying EMI for the last 6 years and have 3 more years to go. Please advice me.

Learning

14 Replies

BHANU RASPUTRA (ADVOCATE & SOLICITOR divyatta.r@gmail.com)     18 October 2009

IT IS YOUR MISTAKE , uhave not added your name to property. it amount to gift of money to father and he used for property . olease inform whether your name in teh property purchased by your father

Thank you for the prompt reply Sir,

I am neither the co owner or Joint owner to the land or the property. However, i am the coapplicant to the loan taken for the construction of this house.

Please advice if i can contest this as a Benami transaction in the court of law..?

Thanks sir for your advice

Also I have made all the payments from US by way of wire transfer. THis was  the money used to build the house.

BHANU RASPUTRA (ADVOCATE & SOLICITOR divyatta.r@gmail.com)     18 October 2009

please inform , whether all payments are made?

HOW amount shown in  your account  and your father acount?

if settlement is not possible , ucan file suit for benamo transaction, but chance is 25%.

you have transferred money to your father account , willingly , and therefore it is gift of money.

U are charetered accountant , EVENTHOUGH legal advise is necessary , SO MANY PERSON COMMITING SAME MISTAKE.

YOUR name should have 1st in the property as u r making payment.

NOW your father have to make WILL in your name  OR