Vandini   16 January 2024

GUARDIAN ACT

Hello sir/madam,
As I am applying for guardian act n now I heard from somewhere that I have to pay a security deposit amount of Rs 4 lakh if I had to apply for the custody of my children..Is it true.. please guide me regarding this.

T. Kalaiselvan, Advocate (Advocate)     16 January 2024

As per section 7 of G & W Act :Power of the Court to make orders as to guardianship. - (1) Where the Court is satisfied that it is for the welfare of a minor that an order should be made- Appointing a guardian of his person or property or both, or declaring a person to be such a guardian the Court may make an order accordingly.

However you have been misguided by somebody that you have to pay a deposit of the amount specified to you, beware of fraudsters. 

Dr. J C Vashista (Advocate )     17 January 2024

No such rule / law exist under Guardians & Wards Act, 1890 for seeking security of person or property of the minor in appointment of a guardian.  

Vandini   17 January 2024

Thank you so much sir for your guidance .

T. Kalaiselvan, Advocate (Advocate)     17 January 2024

You are welcome.