Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Veerendra   17 January 2020

Commercial charges on a dental clinic

Dear All Eminent Lawyers,

I am a dentist practicing in a one room kitchen flat since the last twenty nine years.  I have been practicing before the co-operative housing society of our building was formed.  When I started practice, since I was a fresh graduate and I was not filing income tax returns the banks refused to give me a loan for the premises. So my father took the loan, but all the repayment was done by me.

The society where I practice is levying heavy commercial charges on me. When I questioned them, they said that since the premises is in your father’s name but you are practicing there that is why we are levying commercial charges on you.

So my first query to this forum is whether the society was justified in levying commercial charges on a OPD practice?

Many years back my father filled up the nomination form and made me the nominee of the premises, however the society refused to accept the nomination form. A few years back my father transferred the one room kitchen flat to me by a gift deed which was duly registered with registrar of sub assurances. However the society is not admitting me as a member of the society.

Now what are my legal options?

Hope to see a lot of responses & many thanks in advance for the same.

Regards,

Yours  Sincerely,

Dr. Veerendra Darakh

Learning

5 Replies

SHIRISH PAWAR, 7738990900 (Advocate)     17 January 2020

Dear sir,

For commercial charges you have to check the resolution of society and if you are not satisfy with the resolution you can challenge it before society registrar. If society is not transferring the membership in your name in that case you have to send legal notice to society and later on approach society registrar.

Regards,

1 Like

Veerendra   18 January 2020

Thank you Advocate Pawar for the reply.