LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Swapnil Desai (jhkj)     24 March 2011

30years plus tenancy

I am born and brought up in the house that i am staying in since 34 years now. The house is a rental where the tenant is my grandfather who expired in 97. I have been staying with my father, who has been staying since 1970 with my grandfather. The tenancy agreement is not transferred to my father's name (he has 2 more brothers and a sister) though he pays the rest every month. The telephone bill has been transferred in my name but the electricity bill is not (as they are asking for a letter from all heirs + the builders ok + a valid agreement etc)

I pay for the maintenance of this flat including all society charges, water, electricity, building depreciation and reconstructions etc and want to be the legal owner of this flat.

My question is :-

1) Can i become a legal owner - on the grounds of the number of years i have stayed in this tenancy property?

2) If not then what is my alternate? The other heirs will not allow the ownership to transfer in my name as we are staying in prime area (they are not paying any reconstruction or damage charges but are enjoying the property appreciation - i am investing towards an almost dead investment?)

3) we are two sons - but my brother does not stay with my parents - he lives independantly - can he make any claims also?.

kindly advise

thanks and regards,

swapnil

Learning

8 Replies

Atul R Rumale (legal consultant)     24 March 2011

Dear Swapanil,

You have mentioned the necessary information. But you have not given the location of the property and in which state it is situated. Every State in india has indepedant tenacy act. the provisions somewhat different from state to state.