Upgrad
LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Accelerator_enthusiast (Student)     06 March 2023

Can i appear as petitioner-in-person after if i send the legal noice through an advocate?

As much as I dislike burdening the judiciary with new cases unless absolutely necessary, it seems I will have to file a case against my academic institution (in which I am a student) to fight against a discriminatory (at least in my opinion) practice they are following. I have filed an RTI, and based on its reply, I was thinking of first sending a legal notice, followed by a case in the City Civil Court.

I was thinking of fighting the case as Petitioner-in-Person. I will have to take help of someone while drafting the case, but I want to argue my own case (at least request the Hon'ble Judge to let me do so). On the other hand, I want the legal notice to be served by a lawyer rather than by me because some websites state that if signed by a lawyer, the notice will carry extra weight.

Here's my dilemma: If I argue the case myself, am I allowed to use the services of an Advocate to serve the notice? Will the Court question why I served the notice via an Advocate, but then appeared as Petitioner-in-Person?

Learning

2 Replies

Dr J C Vashista (Advocate)     07 March 2023

What is the opinion and advise of your professor / tutor / coach ??

Accelerator_enthusiast (Student)     07 March 2023

Originally posted by : Dr J C Vashista
What is the opinion and advise of your professor / tutor / coach ??

The Professors agree with my point of view, so do my classmates.