LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Property Law (Service)     31 January 2021

Ancestral property

My grandmother (80 years old now) has received about 10 acres of agricultural land from her father. She has 3 sons of which, 2 sons A and B are passed away. Im the son of A and grandson owner grandmother. Can i file for a partition suit ? Is this an ancestral property ?

Learning

10 Replies

kavksatyanarayana (subregistrar/supdt.(retired))     31 January 2021

Your grandmother had 3 sons. And two sons out of 3 sons expired but what about the other son or his family?  Are there any daughters to grandma? First, obtain the legal heirship certificate of your grandmother and your father also.  Then proceed to file a partition suit in the court concerned by consulting a local advocate.

Pankaj kumar (Studying)     01 February 2021

I am not a legal expert but have researched a lot about property cases as I went through the same dilemma as yours.
first of all the property will 100 percent fall in the category of self acquired,as it came from her father so it is not an ancestral property.
since it is self acquired property she has the right to sell/gift/will to anyone she likes and really u can't do anything about it.and even if u file partition suit ,ur grandmother lawyers will definitely argue that it is the self acquired property and for ur additional info an ancestral property is the one which is passed on undivided to the next 4 generations (u can search "legal"definition of ancestral property on net}

if u want to get the property the only way I think is to talk to her get the said property gifted in ur name if she is still alive

and if she has passed away and property is still in her name without giving it to anyone then u can definitely file suit as u are the son of his son.

Avinash Sharma   01 February 2021