Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

rhlmarwahs   18 March 2015

Ancestor property

Hi,

My Grandmother died 15 years ago and I have been residing in that property since last 50 years. My grandmother had no will ( as far as I think). I had approached my relatives so many times since last 10 years to sit together and reach out to some conclusion but they never took any interest and never tried to close the issue.

Now, I have constructed another floor on the same property and my relatives are after me to discuss and reach out to some conclusion. They are even saying that they got a clue that there is some will also ( which they are trying to find it out) and the will is in their favor ( which they assume). 

My questions are mentioned below:-

a) Does the will (if it exists) hold strong enough to prove who is right ( as it might be 15 years old & no action has been taken so far)

b) I have been staying there since 50 years in the same property, so what could be consequences, do I need to vacate the property.

c) what would I do if they demand something unreasonable.

Many Thanks...:-)

Learning

5 Replies

Kappil Cchandna (Expert Bail & Criminal Defence Lawyer at Delhi Supreme Court of India)     18 March 2015

Sir, Who all are the relatives .... ? Regards Kapil Chandna Adv 9899011450

saravanan s (legal advisor)     18 March 2015

even if they bring out a will saying its your grandmothers you can challenge it in the court

Jayashree Hariharan (Advocate)     19 March 2015

In addition to the previous answers by my learned colleagues -

moreover the concept of adverse possession too raises. If all hopes are lost, you can still get the floor which you constructed, or the money equivalent to that.

Anand Bali Adv. (Advocate Solicitor & Consultant)     19 March 2015

Dear Client,