Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Gaurav   13 October 2021

A tenant in distress

Hi
I have been residing in a DDA flat in Delhifor over 10 years.
Me and the landlady entered into Unregistered Rent Agreement for 2 years in 2011.
The agreed rate of rent was 18000 per month.
After expiry of the period, we did another unregistered rent agreement again at 22000 per month for the next 2 years I.e. till 2015.
Since the expiry of that period, no agreement executed. A verbal agreement only.
In the meantime, the flat detiorated due to Zero maintenance.
The landlord excused but orally brought the rent down to 19000 per month in 2017. And I started paying.

Now, she files an eviction suit.
Based on an non existent rent agreement for the past 2 years.
It is unregistered.
I have never signed.
The rents mostly have been deposited as cash in the bank account of the husband of the landlady continuously since 2011. All cash deposit receipts are available. Cash deposit have been majorly in varying amounts between 5000 and 50000.

1. Claims rent for last 2 years
2. The amount is 25000 per month as per the suit.
3. Claims that I have taken possession only 2 years ago instead of the reality of 10 years.
4. Though I was supposed to pay at 18000, the demand as per a fictitious agreement is 25000 per month.
Please advice.
I am ready to vacate but this exhorting inname of fictional rent agreement.

Learning

5 Replies

Aakash Sehrawat   13 October 2021

the plaintiff/landlord in the suit can get only the last admitted rent from the defendant/tenant as per various judgments.
Aakash Sehrawat, advocate
advaakashsehrawat@gmail.com
1 Like

Tousif Shaikh   13 October 2021