Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Raju srivastava (Staff Officer)     28 July 2012

Psu bank, resignation, serving full notice period

Hi,

I am a scale II officer at Bank of India and was campus placed in 2010. Now I have resigned from its services after receiving another offer from other private bank. However, my new employer insists that I join within a month. 

I have requested that I be relieved within the month itself and obtained acknowledged copy of the same. Even though my direct supervisor is agreeable to the same, the people at Head office who ultimately control these decisions have refused and say that I should serve the notice period. I have already said that I would pay whatever monetary amount is required and complete all other formalities. 

Could someone suggest whether my bank can force me to serve full 3 months notice period even though I am willing to pay full notice period amount. I am unable to find any document which clearly defines if I can be forced to serve the full 3 months notice period even if I am willing to pay the 3 months notice salary ?

Regards.

Learning

9 Replies

Kumar Doab (FIN)     29 July 2012

Refer to the appointment letter issued to you. If it mentioned that contract can be terminated by employer and employee by tendering notice pay in lieu of notice period, you can affirm to tender notice pay and amount payable by you if any as per correct FNF statement.

You may try and obtain employee rule book, service rule book, HR policy, employee policy, standing orders of the bank and cite these. Bank is under obligation to supply these to all employees. These may be placed at employee portal of the bank, may be available with fellow senior colleagues, union or at website of the union.

Try and obtain the acceptance of your supervisor in writing even if it handwritten comment on copy of your notice and affix seal of the bank with date.