Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Pandit Ji (ASSOCIATE)     11 October 2011

Transfer of ownership of vehicle

Dear Learned lawyers fellow law students,

I need your advice as I am really tensed.  Let me begin by telling you that I am just a newbie in the feild of law, infact this is my first legal experience. 

My query is as folllows:

"Recently I purchased a two wheeler Honda Dio for myself from a showroom. There was this scheme that I could exchange my old two wheeler and get some discount depending upon the condition of the vehicle. So I got  my old two wheeler Honda Activa exchanged which was registered in the name of my Mother . The agent gave me a discount of Rs 15000/-  in return .

The agent asked for the Registeration Card and Insurance papers and asked me to sign the form 29 and 30. I did not retain the Xerox of the insurance or the forms. 

The agent after all this, gave me the receipt saying that " the vehicle has been handed over to him and from now on all the disputes regarding the vehicle will be handled by him."

But recently I came to know that the vehicle is still registered in my mothers name and has not yet been transferred. This agent is a real smart guy and he has stopped picking my calls . 

Now I request all you members with folded hands please be kind enough to let me know what can be done.

Learning

14 Replies

Dr. MPS RAMANI Ph.D.[Tech.] (Scientist/Engineer)     12 October 2011

How did you come to know that the vehicle is still in your name? Did any third party claim or police notice come to you?  When the agent exchanges the vehicle he does not take the old vehicle for himself. The registered owner remains the same until the agent/dealer finds a buyer for the old vehicle. The problem will be only if a civil or criminal liability visits on you as an owner after the date of the receipt from the agent/dealer assuming liabilities regarding the vehicle.