LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Ankita (PT)     12 October 2010

Using my baby as weapon

I am Indian mother and my 1 year old son is US citizen. I am in India right now waiting to get divorced. My husband and I want a mutual divorce so that we don't waste time and energy. In mutual petition he has agreed that I can take my son abroad with me anytime but he is not signing consent form for my baby's passport. I am not demanding any money from him neither for my baby. He is still not ready to help me for my baby's passport. Also he stole my baby's old passport & destroyed it. But he denies this. To avoid any complication I reported it as lost passport in US embassy.

I am getting good job offers in Texas since I am a Physical Therapist and want to work in US. But he is not allowing me to do so indirectly. May be he is jealous. He was working in very renowned hospital in R&D dept. but he says he has resigned. I think he got fired from his job and now he is jealous of my success. He knows I won’t go without my son so trying to stop me by stopping my baby's passport. I have Physical custody of child since he is minor and he has access to him.

The worst part is that I could have used all means to torture him but I did none since all I want is a good future for me and my baby. But this man is doing all he can to ruin my career and waste my time.

Do you think there is a way to get my baby’s new US passport? Can this case be stronger if I file case against him in US court to get sole custody of child? Can Indian court force him to sign baby's passport consent form.

I appreciate your response.

Please Help

Learning

18 Replies

(Guest)