Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

dhamal (accounts)     14 June 2011

Landlord asking for keys of house

Hi

I have been staying in a 1BHK house since 2 years. The landlord didnt make any agreement nor he gave me any rent receipt even when I asked for it consistently. Landlord started with a rent of 6000+500 maintenance and stated that he will increase rent @10% annually and I will have to stay minimum for two years. He took a deposit of 2 months rent (12000). Moreover now he has started asking to pay for water bill as well over and above the maintenance. Now I have completed 2 years of stay and I need to move out as for the same rent I am getting a good 2 BHK house. I told the landlord on 10 june that I will be moving out on 1 july and asked him to deduct rent from deposit. He surprised me with 2 month notice period talks. So I said that you better keep all the deposit and I will handover the house to you on 1 july. So now he is asking me for the keys of the house and saying that he needs to show house to other interested parties and asked me to shift all my important things to the bedroom and lock it. He asked me to handover keys to the main door so that he can show house to others.

My question is:

He never talked about 2 month notice

I am surrendering my entire deposit of 12000 just for 1 month

He is invading my privacy

What should i do in such case ?? Please suggest. Is it necessary for me to give the key ?? Should I just vacate the house on 30 june and hand him the house ? What can i do in case he pressurizes me to give the keys to him?

Please provide your valuable guidance !!

Learning

7 Replies

Dipangkar (Business)     14 June 2011

You can do a lot dhamal, but i would recommend you NOT to.