LIVE Online Course on NDPS by Riva Pocha and Adv. Taraq Sayed. Starting from 24th May. Register Now!!
LAW Courses

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

N.K.Assumi (Advocate)     05 June 2009

Does the Government print currency note or the Corporate?

Does the Government of India print the currency note or by a Corporate?


 2 Replies

adv.ranchi (n/a)     07 June 2009

The India Security Press, Nashik Road functionally consists of two units, the Stamp Press and the Central Stamp Depot. The Stamp Press print postal stationery, postal and non-postal stamps, judicial and non-judicial stamps,RBI/SBI cheques, Bonds, National Savings Certificates, Indira Vikas Patras, Kisan Vikas Patras, Postal Orders, Passports, Promissory Notes and such other security documents as may be required by the Central and State Governments, Public Sector Undertakings and local bodies. It has also started printing of MICR cheques etc. The Central Stamp Depot deals with the supply of finished products to the indentors. 

The Currency Note Press, Nashik Road prints and supplies currency notes of Re.1/- denomination and Bank Notes of the denomination Rs.2/-, Rs.5/- Rs.10/-, Rs.50/- and Rs.100/.

The Bank Note Press, Dewas, consists of two production units viz., Printing Press and Ink Factory. The Printing Press prints higher denomination bank notes viz., Rs.20/-, Rs.50/-, Rs.100/-,Rs.500/-.and Rs.1000/-  The Ink Factory manufactures security inks, meeting partly the requirements of the security/currency printing presses.

The Security Paper Mill, Hoshangabad manufactures bank & currency note paper.

The Security Printing Press, Hyderabad was setup in 1982 for printing and supply of postal stationery to meet the demands of southern States, and that of Central Excise Stamps to meet the demands of the whole country. Inland Letter Cards, Postcards and Embossed Envelops are also printed in the Press to supplement the output of India Security Press, Nashik. The Press is also printing non-judicial stamp papers of lower denominations.

There are four Government Mints at Bombay, Calcutta, Hyderabad and Noida. The main
function of the Mints is minting of coins to meet domestic requirements.


N.K.Assumi (Advocate)     08 June 2009

Dear Adv ranchi, Thank you for the detail informations.

Leave a reply

Your are not logged in . Please login to post replies

Click here to Login / Register  

Related Threads

Start a New Discussion Unreplied Threads

Popular Discussion

view more »

Post a Suggestion for LCI Team
Post a Legal Query