Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Ankur Srivastava (Assistant Manager)     06 August 2015

Property dispute regarding adverse ownership

Dear Learned Friends,

My name is Ankur Srivastava. I am a resident of Lucknow, UP. My father Late Mr. JSS was posted in Motihari, Bihar as a Public Prosecutor and my mother Dr. Mrs. SS was a Surgeon there. They lived there for more than 40 years and unfortunately passed away in 2002. They owned a piece of land with 2 construction on it. One bunglow and one outhouse. It was solely owned by my mother on the property papers. The registry of land was in two pieces, one 1.5 kuttha (3840 Sq. Ft.) plot and another 1 kuttha (2560 Sq. Ft.). Both lands were adjoining and on the 1st land the bunglow was constructed and on the second an out house was constructed with a lawn in between.

After their death, since I am a single child, I left for my ancestral home in Lucknow where rest of my family lived and usually remained out of Bihar or Lucknow because of my studies and later my job.

Coming back to the story, in late 1980s, one of my cousin brother Mr. KPS (Son of the late eldest brother of my Father Mr. KSS) who was looking for a job and was quite qualified (M.Sc. in Biochemistry at that time), my Father asked him to come and join us and helped him open a Clinical Lab. Since my mother was a renowned Surgeon of the state, he went doing well. My father also allowed him to live with us as a family member.

In January 2008, sine I was living mostly away from my Bihar Propert, I sold it to one local resident. However I only sold the Bunglow (built on 3840 sq. feet) and retained the out house for my personal use.