Upgrad
LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Sai   08 October 2015

Owner harassing the tenant(no rent agreement)

Hello Sir/Mam,

I have been staying in a rented apartment for 2 years. Before moving in, we paid a deposit of 2 month's rent to the owner. There was no agreement/lease signed. Also, we do not have any receipts(for the rent and the deposits), but we have online bank transaction statements of the amount transfered to his account. 

Meanwhile we heard several stories about him not retuning deposit of previous tenants as well as of other people in the apartment. So we have decided to vacate the house and not pay him the rent for the last two months and asked him to recover from the deposit. Now, its been 6 days,he has been harassing us saying i will put a legal case against you, put a lock on the house and i will not allow you to stay unless you pay the rent. I will prove that you have not given me any deposit. Our worst nightmare came out to be true. He is actually in no mood of returning our deposit and want us to pay the rent of last two months also.

He has been threatening us ever since to pay the rent. He has been calling us and warning us. I have all his calls recorded where he is saying that I will falsely implicate you and get my money. Also I have his messages where he is refusing to accept deposit as two month's rent.

I want to know about the leagal actions that he can take, and the counter actions that we can take against him. We are three girls staying in the rented flat.

Learning

5 Replies

naveenraj jain (proprietor)     08 October 2015