LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

hemaindistress (none)     26 August 2013

Need help-divorce

I m in great distress and need your consul. 

I had an arranged marriage 13 years back and have a 11 years daughter. Relationship wit my husband was not on great terms but dragged the marriage somehow. I am a commerce graduate and a home maker. Got married right after my graduation and have done minor jobs like receptionists and all before marriage and few months during married life. Husband earns very well so going back to make a successful career was never an agenda. In recent years our squabbles increased a lot which resulted in I leaving my house with my daughter and shifting to other house which is co-owned with my husband. Husband is staying in our other house. 

My and my daughters upkeep is now not looked by him and he gives very meager amount which is not atall suitable to the lifestyle I used to hve when I was with him. When I asked for more money he said no and to manage in what he provides or go out to earn. When I insisted he said to go and take legal help

I then contacted a lawyer who suggested to file a DV case for getting maintenane money from my husband which I did. The case is going on since last one year. Now husband has filed divorce case on me. I dont want divorce from him. 

We hve been staying apart since last 1.5 years and even my daughter is not in touch with him. I dont know his whereabouts. He comes to court when needed but his lawyer is present for all court dates. I hve conveyed him thru email tht I want to return to him but he adamant on divorce. His family is also not much of help here. My divorce hearing ( my reply for his petition) is coming in next 2 months. I am completely lost here... not sure wht to do. Could someone guide me pls.

Learning

9 Replies

Legal Fighter (Advocate)     26 August 2013