Intellectual Property Rights: Practice and Drafting by Adv Gautam Matani. Register Now!
LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Bharathi Sarvothaman   15 August 2023

High courts

How are chartered High courts different from other High courts of india


 2 Replies

T. Kalaiselvan, Advocate (Advocate)     15 August 2023

There were only three Chartered High Courts established in India, namely, Calcutta, Bombay and Madras during the British reign, which have been continued to be as such in the respective places. Those Chartered High Court exercised different powers apart from exercising power provided under the Presidential Towns.

he Act of 1861, titled as "an Act for establishing High Courts of judicature in India authorised Her Majesty the Queen of England to establish High Courts by issuing Letters Patent to Presidency towns wherever and whenever it deemed fit.

Accordingly, Her Majesty the Queen issued the Charter of High Court of Calcutta on 14th May, 1862; and Charters for establishing High Courts in Madras and Bombay were issued on June 26, 1862.

Thus these three High Courts are called Chartered High Court.

'The powers and the functions of High Courts whether situated in Chennai or Guwahati or Patna are identical. The Constitution does not distinguish between High Courts. No High Court enjoys exalted position over another.

P. Venu (Advocate)     15 August 2023

What is the context for this query?

Leave a reply

Your are not logged in . Please login to post replies

Click here to Login / Register