I had engagement this year . We have found this marriage alliance through Matrimonial. I left to US after the engagement on the same day. In girls family, her father did not look after her family , since he is staying out of the family due to their family issue. The mother-in-law told, he is a drunkard, he is not taking care of the family , so they have asked him to stay out of the house, since he is borrowing lot of money and the lenders finally coming to girls family if he statyed at home.
Myself and fiancee were speaking over the phone and we understand each other without any issues. From girls family they are expecting me to talk to every one in the girls family very closely, particularly to mother-in law. My mother-in-law's sister one day tried to talk to me over the phone, but i was about to travel to pick a person from the from airport and told them , i could not speak to them at the moment and they have misunderstood that , i'm not respecting them. They have misunderstood and called off the marriage suddenly by calling to my parents. The girls brother said to my parents that, "your son is not respecting my aunty(mother-in-law's sister), so we are calling off this marriage. I was literally shocked to hear this message. From my side, i felt this girl is good and she had understood me very well , so i thought better will speak to the girl and identify what's the issue.
When i spoke to the girl, she said, everybody misunderstood , you are having head-weight and since you are working in US, you are not respecting any one. I replied her, that i didn't say anything, i said , i could not speak now,am about to go to airport, My fiancee, asked me to speak to my mother-in-law. Then i spoke to my mother-in-law explained this is what happened, and i told them and everything got cleared. Then from girls family, they spoke to my parents, they have misunderstood , ok will start the marriage , will forget all the things happened. Everything went well. Once again, my mother-in-law spoke to me and i avoided unnecessary talking, since it seems they are understanding my situations. During my office time, my mother-in-law spoke to me that she wants to talk to me. I spoke to her and she once again started that , that i was not talking to her closely and her relatives. I really don't know what to speak to her. I said, i will speak after the marriage , don't expect me immediately. She said , she wants me to consider her like mother and speaks to her . I said will do after marriage. I got a call for a meeting at that time, so i said, i have to join meeting, if anything important, let me know, she said ok and disconnected the call.
In another 2 days, she called to my parents and told my parents we are calling off marriage, we don't like your son, he is not respecting. At my home , we have booked the marriage hall, by paying around a lakh and i have booked the flight to India from US. Just 1 month before marriage they have called off the marriage.
I called to my fiancee and asked about this isssue. She said, " i told to my parents , that he is not head weight, he is just normal and he will really take care of me but my parents are not understanding me. But i will not marry anybody other than you, please do not leave me " .
They have mentioned do not talk to my girl, and don't disturb her. It seems they are not allowing my fiancee to talk to me. I called to her elder brother and asked what's the matter, he said, don't disturb my sister, she is trying to forget you, leave her.
I don't know who is saying lie, whether the girl or the girl's brother.
Finally, i thought, whatever it might be, i said to her brother, if you feel you don't like me, please send an e-mail to me, mentioning that you don't like me. so, that for both's family it will be good. But no e-mail from them. I even send to brother what's app detailed why they do not like me and reply to me, but still no reply.
The girls mother and her brother is not taking phone, The girls does not have any personal cell. When i call to her office mobile number , some other person is picking the phone and asking not to call her. (the girls brother also working on the same office where his sister works).
My parents, booked the marriage hall, and they said they cannot return the money of one lakh.
Emotionally, i felt so bad, after speaking to her as a life partner for 5 months, suddenly one month before marriage , just to stop everything.
We are from a middle class family, developing just economically, since the marriage is already cancelled , already my family is in bad emotional state. My parents are worrying that, they will file case as false dowry and request money. We did not even got a penny from them till now. Only i have sent a gift from US to my fiancee watch (worth of 100 $). We felt to go to girls home straight way, since my parents are hesitating whether they will treat badly in the street . So we went to girls uncle office and spoke to them , he is not responding anything and asking us to leave her and go. So, we asked , write a statement and give it to us, but they are not giving it.
The girl sent an e-mail to me for my birthday, wishing me. . I don't know what to do ? It seems like a drama, one side the girls says liking me , other side the family is responding negatively.
Please let me know, whether do i need to face any legal problems for false dowry case ?