Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

vanshika (Engineer)     15 January 2015

Demands in the name of custom

Hi,

I got married 1 year ago. After 6 months of marriage, my husband and his family demanded following items in the name of religious custom:

1. Gold item for my husband.

2. Shoes, clothes for my husband.

3. Clothes for all his family members - mother, father, sister, grandmother ( maternal and paternal)

4. 11 KG sweets

5. basket of fruits

6. 5 KG dry fruits each.

Now again they are demanding the same things, in the name of religious custom.

My mother in law has been threatening me and my father that she would get me divorced.

I am a working professional, and my husband has been asking me to pay him rent and money for food, else he would divorce me.

Please let me know if their demands are valid; and if invalid, what can be done.

Learning

4 Replies

Kappil Cchandna (Expert Bail & Criminal Defence Lawyer at Delhi Supreme Court of India)     15 January 2015

Dear, Its a dowry but no custom .... Better say that u cant afford their unjustified demands and tell them if they don't stop this u file a case against them .... Kapil Chandna Adv 9899011450

(Guest)

As you are working woman, you will not be entitled to get alimony, you may but the condition would be huge income disparity between yours and his.

Filing demand of dowry case on husband and co for the above said items will look foolish and wont stand in court of law.

If husband is asking you to cough up money for running the show, nothing wrong in it, if it were like this, almost all would end up going to court, saying that husband asked me money to pay house rent.

Your husbands threat to you that he will go for divorce is absolutely non-sensical as is your complaints of he asking you money for rent or your MIL threatening you that she will get you divorced.