Upgrad
LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Soundarya   19 February 2021

Woman threatened by husband on a constant basis. help!!

Hello

I'm an engineer and an Associate professor from Bangalore.

I'm a victim of extreme domestic abuse and violence at the hands of my husband and this has been going on for many years now. He was jobless for many years and therefore I had to work a lot to provide for him and my child. Even got loans for him to help him out. Just before the lockdown happened we again had a fight and I was beaten up real bad and this time I chased him from my home and then the lockdown began. During that period, he left for his hometown and I felt somewhat safe. I was constantly receiving death threats from him during lockdown. I've been diagnosed with PTSD and Panis disorder that has led to a very difficult life. 

I have decided to separate from him and since the work pressure is high and managing a 4 year old hyper-active kid is taxing, I couldn't take time out for discussing the procedure for divorce and to plan accordingly. I would definitely like to charge on counts of domestic violence and attempted murder as that's what he literally tried to do with me. 

Till the time I try to figure out the legalities involved in the process and summing up the money to fight the case, I need protection from him as the threats keep coming in at regular intervals and I have all the proof and evidences for the same. 

During his previous attempt at threatening me with death, I filed a complaint with the women's commission and the matter was later transferred to the local police station where I didn't get any protection and instead I got advised by the police and a social worker to patch up with my husband and live with him.