LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Ritu Anand (.)     23 September 2009

National Law Schools and Judiciary Exam

The present situation of National Law Schools is such that everything here is very CGPA oriented. Most students here pay higher fees than other colleges and hence want to start getting paid well as soon as they leave law school.

We get scores (CGPA) for each subject and the sum total of all five years determine the kind of job one will land up with, but every student can be rest assured that at the end of five years no matter what their CGPA is, they will get a well paying job.

As a result, hardly any students are interested in litigation or advocacy and such good education and all the exposure derived from these law schools fails to reach the courts of law and remains confined to law firms. 

I'm also a student of one of these colleges but I have an inclination towards judiciary. Till date, we haven't got any orientation from the college about how to become a judge and not one with a legal background, I'm completely clueless about the same. Sadly, neither the delhi high court website not any other website gives in detail information about the same. I am a resident of Delhi and will be very grateful if anybody can briefly cover all aspects of the examination for district and high court. 

Also, I did some preliminary research and found out that after 10 years of experience, one can directly be appointed by the Governor and President as a High Court judge. I want t know how fair this process is. Also, I'm curious as to the number of seats, reservation and difficulty level of the examination and will be grateful if someone throws light upon the same.

Learning

6 Replies

Manish Singh (Advocate)     28 September 2009

bt we dont have NLS in delhi..

Ritu Anand (.)     28 September 2009

I'm in NLSIU Bangalore but my permanant residence is in Delhi.