Upgrad
LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Shattered Dreams (some desig)     17 August 2013

Severe domestic violence, please suggest.

Respected experts,

please help me with my following queries.

1) I had an arranged marriage through a leading matrimonial website. There was a quick engagement and then marriage within 2 months of engagement. The whole expense of engagement and wedding was borne by my parents. I have a PG degree and I was working then.

2) Post marriage I left my job and relocated to husband's place. In-laws were at native place and did not stay with us.However the communication between by husband and his family used to be the starting point of many arguements with him blaming me for not treating them right etc. I know how much respect and love I gave them before and initial days of marriage. However, i thoughtif I stay good and take good care of him and his family relation,things will be better.

3) My husband hardly gave me money for household expense and I was shy to ask money from him. I instead spent from whatever money I had of my own. This too I did not pay much attention to thinking that its just a phase and will pass. Instead he would ask me to get a job soon and pass comments that I am just eating and not earning anything. My in-laws have my jewellary but I do not have any proof that I have given it to them. My husband would often ask me to gift his expensive gifts though he himself never gifted me anything. During marriage his family was highly agitated till they got the gold from my family.