Cheating/dishonesty

(Querist) 24 May 2015 This query is : Resolved 
Madam/Sir,

Please guide me in a legal issue.

A friend promised to invest my money in property. I gave him 5-6 lakhs. He invested in land and gave me papers.

He again promised to invest more money and I gave him 12 lakhs which he gobbled up. I have the copy of DD through which i transferred money to his bank account.

please tell the remedy I have. I want to get him arrested. Then what is the next step ? he is in Gujarat and I am in Delhi. How to manage this issue and what would be the legal process involved.

Raj
Jeetender Gupta (Expert) 25 May 2015
File a police complaint. You transferred money through your bank in Delhi. Let that be where cause of action initiated. File in police station in whose jurisdiction bank located.
Devajyoti Barman (Expert) 25 May 2015
You can file a case of cheating against him.
To recover the money you have to file civil suit for recovery of money as well.
SAINATH DEVALLA (Expert) 25 May 2015
Act as advised by the above experts
Sudhir Kumar, Advocate (Expert) 25 May 2015
agreed
Dr J C Vashista (Expert) 26 May 2015
A hypothetical query. Consult a local lawyer.
T. Kalaiselvan, Advocate (Expert) 29 May 2015
Giving a huge amount just like that without any evidence is unbelievable. However, if on demand, he refuses you can initiate legal action by first complaining with the local police.
Guest (Expert) 29 May 2015
To be frank, there will be no legal remedy, if you don't have any proof of transactions. Only non-legal remedies can help you to recover your money or to make some solid background for the case, if you find the need later to file against your friend.
Rajendra K Goyal (Expert) 02 June 2015
You can file case of cheating and case for recovery of your money. Recovery would be difficult even you win the case which is also very difficult in given circumstances.
malipeddi jaggarao (Expert) 05 June 2015
How many years back you have given this money?
raj (Querist) 06 June 2015
Dear Malipeddi Sir,

I gave this money in 2012. I have full proof of the transactions.

Raj