Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Symbiosis Law School, Pune, in association with Surana & Surana International Attorneys, Chennai, successfully hosted the 12th Annual Surana & Surana International Technology Law Moot Court Competition, 2013 from 23rd August 2013 to 25th August 2013. Thisedition of the competition focusing on the bio-diversity laws with underlying technical provisions, hosted 30 teams from all over the nation including NUJS Kolkata, NLIU Bhopal, NLU Jodhpur, GNLU Gandhi Nagar, NUSRL Ranchi, CNLU Patna, RGNUL Patiala, NUALS Cochin and NLU Odisha. 

The inauguration ceremony of the three daylong mega event took place on 23rd August 2013 in the Symbiosis Law School Auditorium with Mr. Ashish Kothari, Chairman, Green Peace and Member, Kalpvriksha, as the Chief Guest. 

Chief Guest Mr. Kothari, gave a very enlightening and thought provoking address on conservation of nature and environment. He drew the attention of audience towards various challenges arising today due to our indifferent attitude towards the Mother Earth. He further stated that we need to defend and protect our knowledge and community from piracy.

Valedictory and Prize Distribution Ceremony took place on 25th August 2013 at the Symbiosis Vishvabhavan Auditorium Senapati Bapat Road, Pune. Programme began with the auspicious lighting of lamp by the Chief Guest Dr. Dinakar M. Salunke, Director, Regional Centre for Biotechnology and Vice President, Indian Science Academy along with Dr. A David Ambrose, Professor and Head Department of Legal Studies University of Madras, Adv. Sampath Bulusu, Adv. Yeshwant Shenoy, Proprietor, EnteteLegale,  Mr. Preetam Surana, Surana & Surana International Attorneys, Chennai, Dr. Bindu Ronald, Deputy Director, Symbiosis Law School, Pune and Dr. Shashikala Gurpur, Fulbright Scholar, Director, Symbiosis Law School, Pune and Dean, Faculty of Law, Symbiosis International University.

Dr. Gurpur in her welcome address spoke about the evolution of Symbiosis Law School, Pune and its journey towards excellence. She also highlighted upon the decade long friendship with the Law Firm Surana & Surana International Attorneys, Chennai. She advised the students to look into science as an area where law can come into use and further hoped that this competition would inspire many of the people among the audience to take up the field of science in law. This was followed by the felicitation of the dignitaries on the dais.

Adv. Sampath Bulusu in his address spoke about mooting skills and shared the qualities of a successful mooter with the house.

Adv. Yeshwant Shenoy who had drafted the moot problem highlighted the new avenues in law in the field of Biotechnology. He appreciated the efforts of participants and said that it’s not the victory of any one team but of all, as majority of the teams could identify the issues and concepts and argue well in the contest.

Dr. A. David Ambrose in his address while defining law spoke on the evolution of law starting right from the policies, mechanisms, framework and its implementation. Speaking on Biodiversity Act he said, it’s important to know how safe and how good Biotechnology is.

Hon’ble Chief Guest, Dr. Salunke spoke on science and technology. He said science has never been bad for society; it has always brought prosperity all around, but it can always be misused and it is only  law that can regulate and prevent it. 

Mr. Preetam Surana in his concluding remarks spoke about the evolution of Surana & Surana where he mentioned that this law firm conducts at least 10 Moot Courts across India every academic year since late 80s. He thanked each and every one party to this event for making it a success.

This was followed by the prize distribution ceremony wherein National Law Univerity Orissa was declared the winner lifting the Rolling Trophy with a cash prize Rs 18,000/-, books and one year online subscription of Supreme Court Cases. Rajiv Gandhi National University of Law, Patiala, Punjab finished second, winning a cash prize of Rs. 9000/- along with the one year online subscription of Supreme Court Cases.  Best Memorials Prize was also bagged by National Law Univerity Orissa with a cash prize of Rs. 4000/- and finishing second was West Bengal National University of Juridical Sciences, Kolkata with a cash prize of Rs. 2000/-.  Abeekh Sriram from GNLU, Gandhinagar was adjudged as the best student advocate winning Rs. 4000/-, a book  along with one year subscription of SCC. Vishal Achanta– NUALS Kochi was adjudged as the 2nd Best speaker winning Rs. 2000/- along with one year subscription of SCC. Anshu Bansal from NLU Orissa won the Best Speaker of Finals Award. Last but not the least the Spirit of Surana Award was won by GH Raisoni Law College Nagpur.

At the end Dr. Bindu Ronald proposed the vote of thanks.

"Loved reading this piece by Guest?
Join LAWyersClubIndia's network for daily News Updates, Judgment Summaries, Articles, Forum Threads, Online Law Courses, and MUCH MORE!!"

Tags :

  Views  1697  Report

Post a Suggestion for LCI Team
Post a Legal Query