Govt. reappoints Tushar Mehta as solicitor general for India with 6 new ASGSs

The re-appointment of Senior Advocate Tushar Mehta as Solicitor General for India for a 3-year term has been approved by the Appointments Committee of the Union Cabinet w.e.f  1 July 2020.

Moreover, the Centre appointed six new Additional Solicitors General of India to represent the Government of India in the Supreme Court for a 3-year term. They are Balbir Singh, Suryaprakash V Raju, Rupinder Singh Suri, N Venkataraman, Jayant K Sud and  Aishwarya Bhati.

According to the order issued by the Union Law Ministry, senior advocates Vikramjit Banerjee, Aman Lekhi, Madhavi Divan, KM Nataraj and Sanjay Jain have been re-appointed as Additional Solicitors General for SC for a term of 3 years.

Besides this, the following advocates have been appointed as new Additional Solicitors General for the High Courts:

1. Yezdezard Jehangir Dastoor for the Calcutta High Court

2. Chetan Sharma  for the Delhi High Court

3. R Sankaranarayanan for the High Court of Madras

4. Dr Krishna Nandan Singh  for the Patna High Court

5. Devang Girish Vyas  for  the High Court of Gujarat

Advocates Anil Singh and Satya Pal Jain have been re-appointed as ASGs of India for the High Courts of Bombay and Punjab & Haryana respectively.

The notification was issued by the Centre on 29 June 2020 and the appointments and re-appointments will take effect from 1 July 2020.


BALBIR SINGH: Senior Advocate, Mr Balbir Singh, founding partner at DSK legal (now designated as senior counsel) worked with DSK Legal till 2014 as a senior partner. He resigned from the partnership to pursue counsel practice in Delhi. He began his chambers with about five to seven lawyers, some of whom joined from his DSK team in 2015.

SURYA PRAKASH V RAJU: Senior Advocate, Mr Raju has tackled some of the most high profile cases in the state. He has represented Union home minister Amit Shah in the Sohrabuddin encounter case.

Lately, he represented rape-convict Asaram Bapu, MD and CEO of  Kalorex Manjula Pooja Shroff for alleged forgery for leasing out land to self-proclaimed godman Nithyanand, former National Health Mission Chief and IAS Gaurav Dahiya, who was charged with polygamy and many more.

N VENKATARAMAN: Mr N Venkataraman was designated as a Senior Advocate by the Hon’ble Supreme Court of India in 2006.


RUPINDER SINGH SURI: An alumnus of St Stephens College, Delhi University, Mr Rupinder Sigh Suri was designated as the Senior Advocate by the Hon’ble Supreme Court of India in 2009. He has held various key positions in the legal arena such as-  President, Supreme Court Advocate-On-Record Association (2004-2006), Hon. Secretary, Supreme Court Bar Association (1997-98), Vice President, Supreme Court Bar Association (1999-2000). He was also the Secretary-General, INSOL India and is an active member of the International Bar Association. He  has been appointed as the National Representative of India, in  2019, for the UIA (International Association of Lawyers).

JAYANT K SUD: Mr Jayant K Sud has served as the Senior Executive Member of Supreme Court Bar Association (SCBA) and has been designated as the senior advocate by the apex court.

AISHWARYA BHATI: Ms Aishwarya Bhati was the first woman advocate from Jodhpur who has been designated as the Senior Advocate by the Supreme Court of India. She has been the Secretary of the Supreme Court Bar Association (SCBA) and was also appointed as the Additional Advocate General for Uttar Pradesh in the SC in 2017. She is an advocate on record at present. She has represented many cases of national importance such as the constitutional validity of Aadhar card, constitutional validity of Muslim religious practices under Muslim personal laws, equal rights for women in the Air force, and many more.

Tags :

Published in Others
Source : ,
Views : 49


  LAWyersclubindia Menu