LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

prince kanhya   16 January 2019

withhold scholarship

I am a phd student and getting financial support from MHRD in form of scholarship. In january-may 2018 semester my guide award me unsatisfacotary grade and due to this my scholarship withhold till earning the satisfactory grade.i got the following email

Dear Sir, 

With reference to the trailing mail, I am directed to request you to withhold the PhD scholarship of  Mr. Prince Kanhya, TA category w.e.f  May 15, 2018 till earning of satisfactory grade in his PhD Thesis Course, as per the  decision taken during 22nd meeting of the SPGC held on May 14, 2018, in view of the Institute policy (written in the last) on the matter.

Now i earned satisfacotry grade. But institute denied to provide my money from 15th may to 11th december. Officials are saying this is deducted as punishment. I asked to almost all officials but same answer.

My question is that if i get a email of withholding scholarship how can my scholarship will be denied? I can not do legal action right now otherwise institute can creat problem for my phd degree.

What to do to get my money 

institute policy is the following

Unsatisfactory performance in PhD Thesis course in a semester may lead to temporarily stopping of PhD scholarship until the student attains satisfactory grade in his/her PhD Thesis course. If a PhD student accumulates more than two US grades in XX 899 during his/her PhD program then that student may face early termination from the PhD program".

Learning

11 Replies

Pradipta Nath (Advocate)     16 January 2019

Approach to the Ministry directly with copy to the PM else only option is to file writ before the concerned High Court.