Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Raghav Shukla (Consultant)     28 July 2011

Parental Property dispute

Dear forum,

First of all I must acknowledge and appreciate your advice on legal matter

My father and mother both passed away few years back.

My elder brother got my father’s job (in a bank) and recently started cornering me and my younger sister.

I am a US resident and my Sister is a renowned government doctor in a different state.
We both never thought that he would cheat on us until recently,

My sister told me that she signed an affidavit kind of thing(stamp paper) unknowingly stating that she has no interest in my parent’s house.

Now, I noticed that my portion in house is locked (by me) but my brother recently has started creating issues with people I send to check on or rent to.

1. Can me and my sister sell 2/3 portion of the house to a 3rd person?
  2. what if my brother has already done dakhil khariz in my absence
  3. Can my brother force me and my sister not to sell (like any court stay order)
  4. What’s is the value of the affidavit my sister signed, can she reclaim her share?
  5. Can I add my name in Nagar Nigam so he doesn't do any fraud?
  6. Can I get a restraining order from them from police station or court for any possible physical abuse?
  7. I believe, my brother has taken advantage of his position in his job at the same bank where my parent’s kept their savings and commenced some fraud without let me or my sister knowing of real savings. What can we do about it?

Learning

1 Replies

Mahadeva Rao G (ADVOCATE)     30 July 2011

Dear raghav,