LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

VIJAYNARAYAN (FREELANCE EDU CONSULTANT)     08 May 2010

LEGALITY OF VRS CLAIM

I joined one PSU in 1976 and resigned in 1982. I re-joined the same PSU in June1983 and thereafter took VRS in Nov 1998. Upon re-entry in 1983  my pay was protected even though I was re-appointed at the entry level. Later by virtue of existing guidelines for such cases I was considered for promotion with my erst while collegues as and when their promotion was due. My seniority was restored along with that of my ex-batch mates  after the promotion. On VRS in Nov '98 all my dues like PF& Gratitity were settled for the entire period i.e 76 to 82 & 83 to 98. Ex-gratia VRS amount , however ,  was  settled for the period of 1983 to 1998 i.e for the period after re-joining only. I have been representing &appealing for the VRS ex-gratia amount for the period of 1976 to 1982 on the ground that since my seniority was restored after due promotion & also my last drawn pay was protected , my service for the period 1976 to 1982 should be considered for the purposes of VRS ex-gratia as well. QUESTION : IN such cases is there any legal provisions to stake my claim. I sincerely feel I am morally justified in staking my CLAIM. In may case the due amount will be 2.5 lakhs approx ( without any interest)   

Learning

3 Replies

VIJAYNARAYAN (FREELANCE EDU CONSULTANT)     10 May 2010

I AM SURPRISED THAT THIS HAS NOT MERITED ANY REPLY FROM  ANY  OF  THE   ENLIGHTENED MEMBERS  

radha krishna (vp-hr)     15 May 2010

1. Since you resigned and relieved you are not eligible for the VRS compensation for the that period (76-82)