LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Sachin Anand (Fresher)     07 May 2012

E-mail legal notice without reg. no. of lawyer

I got an E-Mail legal notice from my past college. It was from a lawyer, but it did not contain any registration no. of the Lawyer. Should it be conserned as legal and proceed?

Also, if I'm a passed out student of a college, can a college claim Students code of conduct on me?

Learning

4 Replies

Kumar Doab (FIN)     07 May 2012

What is the matter in legal notice?

It shall be approprite to send a reply to the legal notice than to avoid it.

JANAK RAJ VATSA (ADVOCATE)     08 May 2012

better to reply than avoid the legal notice

Sachin Anand (Fresher)     11 May 2012

After passing out from the college,one of our friend made a page named after college in www.facebook.com; many friends were added as my friend did a mistake by making the page open to all. Those people who did not get job or were frusted from the college's behavior towards student, started posting all events of the college and started exposing each faculty who were not in qualification to there post. One by one all the loop holes of the college was getting exposed. I too was among these friends who posted comments and pictures of faculty.

Our College got annoyed by this and without warning us, sent a legal notice to us through e-mail. College says that what we did in facebook comes under Criminal Defamation as well as Civil Defamation also we are under Cyber Crimes Law.