LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

saurabh (business)     21 August 2009

disputed property

i am a resident of punjab.my grandmother bequethed her property on my brother's name.she had 4 brothers and a daughter.all are married.one of my uncle died long way back.His 3 daughters are married.

2 of my uncle is in abroad.my father took care of my grandma.He was used as a puppet as he wasnt able to work permanently as my uncles ordered him to take care of my grandma.my father was youngest.

My grandma knew abt my uncle's attitude and hence made a will and gave her property to my brother who was a minor at that time.my father was a caretaker.

my uncles came to knew abt this after 7 yrs of the will being signed.they started torturing my father and mother.

my fatehr expired some time back.We decided to retain the house.my uncles didnt want us at home.we declined to give them a part or to leave the house.now they have registered a case against us in civil court.they also took a stay against the property.

now the stay has been nullified but the case is still going.they havent bothered to attend even a single procceding.

now another thing is coming in front.they had a draft with them with my grandma's signature.they have turned it into a will which is dater later than ours.the witnesses in them r my aunt(fathers sister and fathers sister-in-law).and they signed it later not in front of my grandma.

we want to sell the house?can we?

will the case still be running on us?

if we sell the house what all will be the complications.will the buying party have to face a case too?cant they make any changes in the house?

if we cant sell then can we make any changes in the house?

hoping for a quick reply

thankyou

regards 

saurabh mittal

Learning

3 Replies

saurabh (business)     22 August 2009

Thanks for the prompt reply sir.

Your reply gave us a ray of hope.