Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Family (Executive)     22 September 2010

Counselling

Dear All,

We filed for mutual divorce on 22nd april, 2010 at the family court. My next date is 2nd NOV 2010. I got to know that the judge is making counselling mandatory , thus i will be wasting 6 months till my final decree. Kindly suggest how i can avoid the counselling so that the divorce takes place on 2nd Nov.

Learning

10 Replies

Adv Archana Deshmukh (Practicing Advocate)     22 September 2010

The court sends for counselling as an attempt of reconciliation. The 6m period is given for making reconciliation attempts only. However, if no reconciliation happens in the counselling sessions and the husband and wife moves the 2nd motion after the 6m period, then the court grants divorce.

2 Like

Samrat Desai (Lawyer)     22 September 2010

I am a Law Graduate and Practicing as a lawyer in Maharashtra Sindhudurg District Since Last Three Years My one client want to marry with his Mothers Sister"s Daughter Both are Hindu ............... What advise I should give them I am confused that they are in Prohibited Relation or not I confused because  I have seen in Maharashtra Son of Sister and Daughter of Brother marriage is regular. Is it possible for them to marry What Should I Advise Them Please Reply

Desai ji, this marriage is not permitted under law and it shall be void as the parties are in prohibited relationship. I know in maharashtra sister's son and brother's daughter can marry, but there the marriage is valid because there is custom to support it, i.e. such marriage is permitted by custom, so it is valid under law. But there is no such custom by which a boy can marry his mother's sister's daughter in any caste in maharashtra. So such marriage shall be void.

CommonMann (Software Professional)     22 September 2010