LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Rajendran Nallusamy (Advocate)     13 March 2008

Classification of labour laws


Labour Laws may be classified under the following heads:

I. Laws related to Industrial Relations such as:

l Trade Unions Act, 1926

l Industrial Employment Standing Order Act, 1946.

l Industrial Disputes Act, 1947.

II. Laws related to Wages such as:

l Payment of Wages Act, 1936

l Minimum Wages Act, 1948

l Payment of Bonus Act, 1965.

III. Laws related to Working Hours, Conditions of Service and Employment such as:

l Factories Act, 1948.

l Plantation Labour Act, 1951.

l Mines Act, 1952.

l Working Journalists and other Newspaper Employees’ (Conditions of Service and Misc. Provisions) Act, 1955.

l Merchant Shipping Act, 1958.

l Motor Transport Workers Act, 1961.

l Beedi & Cigar Workers (Conditions of Employment) Act, 1966.

l Contract Labour (Regulation & Abolition) Act, 1970.

l Sales Promotion Employees Act, 1976.

l Inter-State Migrant Workmen (Regulation of Employment and Conditions of Service) Act, 1979.

l Dock Workers (Safety, Health & Welfare) Act, 1986.

l Building & Other Construction Workers (Regulation of Employment & Conditions of Service) Act, 1996.

IV. Laws related to Equality and Empowerment of Women such as:

l   Maternity Benefit Act, 1961

l   Equal Remuneration Act, 1976.

V. Laws related to Deprived and Disadvantaged Sections of the Society such as:

l   Bonded Labour System (Abolition) Act, 1976

l   Child Labour (Prohibition & Regulation) Act, 1986

l   Children (Pledging of Labour) Act, 1933

VI. Laws related to Social Security such as:

l   Workmen’s Compensation Act, 1923.

l   Employees’ State Insurance Act, 1948.

l   Employees’ Provident Fund & Miscellaneous Provisions Act, 1952.

l   Payment of Gratuity Act, 1972.


 0 Replies

Leave a reply

Your are not logged in . Please login to post replies

Click here to Login / Register