Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Santhosh Abraham   14 February 2016

Encroachment of pvt property

Hi, 

I am a Non Resident Indian and I inherited my father's property in Kerala. In my revent visit last week, I discovered that my property was encroached by my uncle who cut down 15 Teak Trees, 2 mangroves, 15 Anjili Tree, 2 Cashew and 8 Coconut trees all amounting to INR 14 lakhs in loss. 

He also has constructed a fence that now blocks right of entry into my property. Currently, I have to get into his property to access mine. The pathway was common for both the properties. The path led straight upto his house and the right path towards mine, which means we had a common entry from the roadside. The pathway however belongs to me according to the land documents which until now and for most part of 3 decades was eased as an entry to his house out of a concession which was offered not documented but verbaly. I do not want to block the right of entry into his property but I certainly do not want him to block mine by having it fenced.

I visited the Village office and asked for the map of the property and then found out that my uncle has not divulged most of the facts pertaining to the land when they approaced him to resurvey the land according to the new regulations. For eg: The streams, and walk ways were all undisclosed to suit his conveneince and were never told to the officers that came. You would also need to understand that there was a stream (active when it rains) that came from the highest point of the land and crossed horizontally beneath the pathway he has now blocked. (The landscape is a slope) The PWD has also constructed a culvert to facilatate the flow of the stream from higher grounds to pass through below the road and then horizontally across the pathway to finally merg with a larger stream about 200 meters down the property.