Rate of stamp duty

(Querist) 08 March 2013 This query is : Resolved 

If something is not written in the Indian Stamp Act,1899 about the stamp duty rates on a particular type of agreement then what rate we should apply?

For example there is a Joint Venture Agreement and nothing is specified in Stamp Act about the rate of duty, then what should be the amount of duty to be paid?

Is there something written in the law? Kindly given your expert advice.

Pooja Nirmal
Sankaranarayanan (Expert) 08 March 2013
it is depends upon the state stamp duty slap
Jatinder Singh (Expert) 08 March 2013
If your agreement/document is not covered by any specific entry in the Stamp Act, you need to pay stamp duty under the heading "Any other document"...
Rajeev Kumar (Expert) 08 March 2013
Stamp duty varies from state to state.
Pooja (Querist) 08 March 2013
please advise the rate of stamp duty in Haryana.
ajay sethi (Expert) 08 March 2013
check the provisions of stamp act of haryana for stamp duty payable
Raj Kumar Makkad (Expert) 09 March 2013
Rate is duly mentioned under Haryana Stamp Act.
Pooja (Querist) 10 March 2013
OK. THANKS SIRS.
prabhakar singh (Expert) 10 March 2013
It would be Rs.20/=00 in Maharashtra.

Course