raising compound wall

(Querist) 27 April 2015 This query is : Resolved 
We have a bunglow in the residential area of about 5000 Sq ft and our compound wall on all sides are so small and we need privacy in our bunglow to use the garden and swimming pool.
Is there any legal restriction for the height of the compound wall.
We need to take around 15 feet high for privacy. Is this height ok legally?
Please guide us legally to build.
Kappil Cchandna (Expert) 27 April 2015

Refer the local bodies law applicable in your state ....

Warm Regards
Kapil Chandna Adv 9899011450
Devajyoti Barman (Expert) 28 April 2015
There is no restriction on height of boundary wall.
Rajendra K Goyal (Expert) 28 April 2015
Local law / municipal rules applies, consult concerned authority.
BAALASUBRAMANNYAMM (Expert) 28 April 2015
agreed with Barman ji.
P. Venu (Expert) 28 April 2015
Man is a social animal; his privacy need not be 15 feet high! That makes home a prison.
malipeddi jaggarao (Expert) 28 April 2015
If it is in your own place (not a joint compound wall) you can make it a prison. It is up to you.
Prashant (Querist) 29 April 2015
It's not a prison Mr jaggarao and venu. It's a four storyed building with the area of 5000 Sq ft with swimming pool in the front left and huge land scape in the right side.

We usually have dinner out daily in the garden and to use the swimming pool we need privacy.

so when we contacted the engineer he suggested us to build up to 15 feet high on the left side so that you can swimming pool us covered and on right u can take upto 10 feet has there are no big buildings on the right.

15 feet wall doesn't mean a prison it's a beautiful r private area you could never encounter in your life.

And that to it is the engineer who decides it. Here I guess only legal advises are done
sukanya (Joyce) (Expert) 29 April 2015
i disagree with the way of answers given by Mr venu .p. n Mr malipiddi, on the net scribe answers must be given to the satisfaction of clients on this awsome legal platform who takes help of intellectual experts in legal wing.. better if can solve the e-querry , they r appreciated by clients. if answers not know avoid n skip the query. don't hurt clients in odd ways. no other Advocates must b effected due to this one of their mistks.
i disagree with the way of answers given by Mr venu .p. n Mr malipiddi, on wers must be given to the satisfaction of clients on this awsome legal platform who takes help of intellectual experts in legal wing.. better if can solve the e-querry , they r appreciated by clients. if answers not know avoid n skip the query. .
prashantji, kpil, Barman n Rajendraji , i agree with their replies, kindly adopt.
T. Kalaiselvan, Advocate (Expert) 03 May 2015
The question of raising the compound Wall is the discretion of the owner, however the local Municipal authorities may be approached for a formal permission in this regard to comply with the local rules prescribing any procedure.