Icici bank harressment

(Querist) 15 February 2015 This query is : Resolved 
hello sir, i m in problem. i had taken personal loan from icici bank in bangalore on 30th jan08. of amount 1,15,000/= for which i get 108000/= rest deducted for processing charges. i had an emi of Rs 3147/= per month. i had regularly paid the emi till feb09. after that i was unable to pay the emi bcoz of lossess i had in my business. i was hand to mouth. then i tried to survive in blore but coundnt make up so i left blore in 2010 n back to my native. now from past 2 months bank got my new mob no n start harressing me,my family, n my relatives by using abusive language n threatenings. they call us around 40-60 times in a day. if i ask them there ids and bank branch, they just use abusive language. now they r asking me to pay 2,47,000/= Rs and i m still not in condition to pay the amount. yesterday an icici employee from hydrabad called me and ask the settelement for 1 lac Rs. for that also i m not in condition to pay.. please please its a request guide me wat to do.... thanks
Devajyoti Barman (Expert) 15 February 2015
Since you have taken loan , you have no other way but to repay it.
Your only option is to negotiate with them and fix a new terms for repayment.
Rajendra K Goyal (Expert) 15 February 2015
The loan is time barred if you have not acknowledged the same in past three years. You can record the abusive language and threatens and report the matter to local police and RBI.
Kumar Doab (Expert) 15 February 2015
The conduct of M/s ICICI Bank has been discussed in many threads.........and Supreme Court of India judgments in matters pertaining to M/s ICICI bank are attached in these threads...........you may go thru these and prepare your case.

Record all calls.
The bank has to maintain the list of recovery agents/collection agencies on its websites along with phone numbers.

It is easy to find ownership details from phone numbers.

Get the bank penalized from courts of law......

http://www.lawyersclubindia.com/forum/Harrasment-by-icici-banks-recovery-agents-76271.asp#.UUc5U0pFZ_4

http://www.lawyersclubindia.com/forum/Mental-torture-and-harassment-from-icici-bank-recovery-agent-90503.asp#.VOC_1IKqqko
ajay sethi (Expert) 16 February 2015
claim is barred by limitation
Kumar Doab (Expert) 16 February 2015
It is upto you :::how you drive the discussions during calls.

If you admit the debt after the debt is barred by limitation, the clock shall be set again.

Record all calls and demand that debt is barred by limitation and all communications be supplied by letter thru redg. Post only.

If you have gone thru above mentioned threads then you shall get access to all details in such matters.

It shall still be better to proceed under expert advise of local lawyer.
amit (Querist) 16 February 2015
dear members thanks for reply....i did able to understand wat is "claim is barred by limitation".. CAN U PLZ HELP ME REGARDING THIS....
I HAD CONTACTED MY LOCAL LAWYER
AND WHAT IS LOAN IS TIME BARRED
bank ought to have taken recovery proceedings within period of 3 years of non payment . since bank has failed to take recovery proceedings bank cannot seek to recover loan amount now . i presume you have not adressed any letter to bank wherein you admitted you are liable to pay the outstanding loan amount
no sir till now i had not addressed any letter to bank for such statement. today i got call from bomanhalli branch bangalore as they r asking 100000/= for final settlement. in that wat they r saying pay 50% this week n rest 50% next month.

as today i went to my local icici branch i inquired about my loan account. in that it didnt reveal any details of the payments i had done against my personal loan. its only showing the loan amount sanctioned and final dues till date
loan has been taken in 2008 . no EMI paid after February 2009 . bank will not be able to recover loan amount now if it files recovery suit
now they r calling me again n again... since last 2 months n today also they called 4-5 times. wat shud i do... n she said she will b calling me at 4:30.... just asking to pay the amount....
it is your call . you have to decide . i can only advise you legally .
sir i m in so much tension i cannot make out wat to reply them now.... please help me regarding this, i will b very greatful to u....
hello sir just now a come to know as these recovery agents were calling my relatives so they ask one of my relatives they to deposite cash in loan account so that they can stop calling n harressing other relatives of mine so after much discussion to him , this relative had deposited 5000/= Rs in my loan account on 5th feb 15. will this help icici bank for recovery suit...
god knows wat gonna happen..
Kumar Doab (Expert) 16 February 2015
You have posted that you have contacted a local lawyer.

Your relative is not borrower and is not liable to deposit. With the help of your lawyer let your relative claim it back from bank and submit in writing that he has deposited by error and he is neither borrower.
Otherwise M/s ICICI have succeeded by pressure.
thanks sir i will do the same
H.M.Patnaik (Expert) 16 February 2015
I am sure u have formed a good idea by now reg. how to proceed furthur .
T. Kalaiselvan, Advocate (Expert) 19 February 2015
By depositing any money by you or your relative or by you giving anything in writing accepting the loan, the loan will be renewed and the fresh period will start from now on, hence better not to commit that way, ask your relative to withdraw that amount and you remain quiet about the issue.