Compulsory Registration of Marriage


The States of Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Goa, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Karnataka, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Orissa, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu and Tripura have already taken necessary legislative measures providing for compulsory registration of marriages. Other States except the State of Nagaland are in the process of achieving this end.


Giving this information in written reply to a question in the Rajya Sabha today, Shri Salman Khurshid, Minister for Law & Justice, said that in view of the steps taken/ being taken by the State Governments to make registration of marriages compulsory in their respective States, at present there does not appear to be any specific necessity for the enactment of a Parliamentary legislation for compulsory registration of marriages at this stage.

Tags :

Published in Family Law
Source : ,
Views : 4272



Post a Suggestion for LCI Team
Post a Legal Query
CrPC Course!     |    x