LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Swati Jain (Social Worker)     27 April 2013

Women assult assult

I am a social worker work with an NGO in Rural area.I got a report that relatives of one widow women who aroung 50 years, sold her land. When she went to protest, two of her relatives badly abused her, touched her private parts and tried to undress her in presence of 8-10 vilagers. However, other villegers remained covered thier faces. They were forcing to strip her however with help of one person the women managed a scape.

Police is reluctant to take register the case, and asking her to bring witness. No one is willing to testify for this poor women . The person who saved her is also tentative about giing a statement However,  we also fear that he may change later due to pressure

Persons assulting her are influential and there is a fear that they may influence the police.

Through this platform I apeal to our learned legal faternity to suggest me exact procedures for ensuring justice to this lady

Thanking all of you in advance

Swati Jain

Learning

6 Replies

Ranee....... (NA)     27 April 2013

complaining to a higher police officer like S.P will work.Also a complain against the police officer who did nt file FIR should b lodged.

Adv k . mahesh (advocate)     27 April 2013

in my view if she goes to police station or even if she complains to higher officials then also there will be problem if once there relatives kknow about the complaint because she is alone and in your words no one will come to rescue her if anything goes wrong

(may be this is modern day culture but if she make some dare and your group help without disclosing her name she has to come to limelight)

1.  if NGO complains to the above situation to the news channel and try them to shoot the incident trapping there relatives and showing in the channel