LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

V k naageswaran   03 January 2023

Pension claim

I am an exbank officer. I resigned on health grounds after nearly 19 years of service in 1986 when resignation was the only exit route available. Pension regulations came in 1995. Am I not eligible for pension?

Learning

23 Replies

Dr J C Vashista (Advocate)     03 January 2023

The Banking or any other rule(s) do not have retrospective effect, accodingly the Pension Rules, 1995 do not apply in your case. 

The cutoff dare under the pension rules being first January 1986, my claim seems to fall within that date.

Pradipta Nath (Advocate)     03 January 2023

What your personal depart saying on this? However any rule if unconstitutional, can be challenged. 

They are quoting regulation 22 as per which a resignee has to forfeit the past services. 

A definite distinction has to be made between routine resignation and a resignation for health reasons. 

The dichotomic approach of the bank is that I have been admitted to the medical benefits for which retirees are entitled biut I have been denied pension.

While it is said on resignation, employer- employee relationship ceases, does not extension of medical benefits to a resignee revive such a relationship? When it is revived, there is no forfeiture of past service and so the status should provide scope for pension also.

Shashi Dhara   03 January 2023

Contact high court advocate and if possible file w.p 

P. Venu (Advocate)     03 January 2023

No definite suggestion requires perusal of  the relevant rules and regulations.

They are all highly prejudiced. No one shows interest obsessed as they are all with regulation 22 of Pension Regulations 1995 without a mind for flexibility in approach. In the circumstances I am helpless.

P. Venu (Advocate)     03 January 2023