LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

SohanDev Karmakar   21 December 2022

Is karmakar scheduled caste ?

A brief introduction about me : I am a student aspirirng for ALL INDIA JOINT ENTRANCE (JEE MAINS). I belong from a village from the state of wb. I live in a community where more than 300 KARMAKAR people live. We all had SC certificates because we belong from the LOHAR caste. Now in 2021 the SDO of our division collected all the caste certificates from us forcefully. He ordered us to show appropriate proofs showing that we belong from the LOHAR community. Now when we showed documents from the 1990s , he declined and said that the proofs must be from the 1950s or more older. And as expected we failed to show such proofs. He than told us that he woold cancel our certificates. But after almost 1 year all the certificates are still not cancelled (they are showing active status in online portal) . What should I do to get back the certificates ? 

Learning

10 Replies

kavksatyanarayana (subregistrar/supdt.(retired))     21 December 2022

I opine, the Karmakars are gold smiths as per the West Bengal government and the Karmakars have come under OBC in WB.

Dr J C Vashista (Advocate)     22 December 2022

Local (West Bengal) laws apply to your case.

Contact, consult and engage a local prudent lawyer.

Sudhir Kumar, Advocate (Advocate)     22 December 2022

First of all you have to consult the list of SC.  This list is prepared by centrla Govt seperately for each state.  See whether your community falls unde rthe same.

Then You have to approach DM.  It is not the SDO rather DM who can cancell certificate based on the recommendations of cat verification committee.

Further please also check if such action has been taken against anyother community.

P. Venu (Advocate)     22 December 2022

The SDO has no such powers. You may take up the issue with the District Collector.

Suresh S   22 December 2022