LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

vinay (NA)     06 October 2013

General advocate fee insurance claim

Hi, My father died on 13 May 2003 because of a road accident. We have filed a case stating- because of negligence of the driver we encountered severe loss. Some insurance company is paying for the loss (I'm not sure about the process of their involvement). We have claimed 23Lakhs for our loss as our total family was dependent on him. As the case is taking long time, we recently settled the case in Lok Adalat for 14Lakhs. I have no knowledge about the fee charged by advocated for such cases. Advocate has asked for 20% of the claim amount i.e., around 3L . I feel this fee is very high. Please help me get to a right conclusion. If possible please explain the possible process of involvement of insurance company. Thanks in advance.

Learning

9 Replies

Sarvesh Kumar Sharma Advocate (Advocacy)     07 October 2013

Internal matter between you and advocate!

T. Kalaiselvan, Advocate (Advocate)     07 October 2013

Mr. Sarvesh Sharma is quite right, you should have thought over it before itself or should have spoken about the fees with your lawyer before initiating your claim process.

Shashikant V. Patil (Lawyer)     07 October 2013

If that Advocate is one and same and working over this accident claim matter for 10 years  and moreover, you are not aware , about the fee charged by him at that time, you may speak to him and settle the matter.  Otherwise there is no way rather to pay him.

If you are not aware that how much fee , the Advocate concerned has charged at that time  is then you have to speak to him to settled  his fees.

Due to technical error , I could not received the message of entry posted.  Regret the same.

Laxmi Kant Joshi (Advocate )     07 October 2013