LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Sonal (Owner)     22 June 2012

Emancipation from parents!! help!!

Hi i'm a 28 year old female my family, including my parents and siblings have been torturing me mentally for last 11 months, they hit me, mentally torture me and they do not let me out of the house, i'm a qualified professional, they do not let me work as well.They just want me to marry which i'm not ready for right now.

Can i file a case against them?

Also can i walk out of my house will i get protection from law under the given circumstances??

Learning

29 Replies

Adv Archana Deshmukh (Practicing Advocate)     22 June 2012

You can get a protection order if you file a petition under the domestic violence act.

Tajobsindia (Senior Partner )     22 June 2012

@ Author

You are in major age and have become an adult person to take your own decisions in life.

2. No, taxpayers money cannot be spent on giving protection to you for persuing your carreer in family related matters if you say you are professionaly qualified then you can very well persue your carrers of choice over marriage.

3. You may take help of a friend and live at a Nari Niketan / Single Women's Hostels / Shelter Homes away from your family and follow your career dreams if that is what brings happiness into you but then tomorrow donot blame your family at turnign to age 40 that they didnot helped you to get married off and always torrtured you !.

Oh common Archana DV Act is not like Maggie tomato soup for all woman’s married - unmarried / minor – majors, living with or without natal families.

Marrying off daughter of 28 years is a violence of parents or relative kya tomorrow same daughter will turn back at 40 years when one parent will not be there to get married and then helplessness of other parent will again result in Advocates like you saying use DV Act.

This is how some advocates misuse Acts / Codes on taxpayers money.