LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Ankit Mehta   27 October 2022

can an advocate represent their parents in court, district court in delhi

Respected senior and my colleagues I'm an advocate by profession practising in Delhi majorly, sir i would to confirm one thing I have sent a legal notice to my neighbour in which I'm asking for terrace rights in the house which I'm living with my parents in ground floor in which terrace owner has put an illegal lock on the roof and denied access to us in which we have clear right in our registered sale deed which is in the name of my parents, the reply which came says that you have committed professional misconduct i only want to know that can I argue for my parents in the court of law in Delhi and can I file my own vakaltnama as well .

Thank you

Learning

8 Replies

Dr J C Vashista (Advocate)     28 October 2022

Professional misconduct may consist –

·         in betraying the confidence of a client

·         in attempting by means to practice fraud

·         to deceive the Court or adverse party or his Counsel

In State of Punjab v. Ram Singh The Supreme Court held that the term ‘misconduct’ may involve –

·         moral turpitude

·         improper or wrongful behavior

·         unlawful behavior

·         willful in character

·         a forbidden act

·         transgression

·         carelessness or negligence in performance of duty

·         or the act complained of bears forbidden quality or character

Chapter -V of the Advocates Act of 1961 deals with conduct of Advocates it describes provision relating to punishment for professional and other misconducts. Section 35(1) of the Advocates Act, 1961

Ankit Mehta   28 October 2022

thank you for replying in really overwhelmed as i ahve personally asked this smfrom so many veterans nobody has any idea about it i mean they are saying we are hearing this for the first time