Yamini singh   05 January 2024

Alimony rules in case of divorce for a housewife?

I am a married woman. My husband is having an affair with another woman and wants to divorce me.

I have a five-year-old daughter. I am a housewife and was dependent on my husband for money.

I want to keep my daughter with me in case of divorce. Kindly, let me know what are the alimony/maintenance rules. Can I get maintenance for lifetime or a certain period?

Below is the relevant info:

Years of Marriage: 9 years
Husband's salary: 5 Lakh/month

My qualification: M.A.
My working status: not working.

Please give me advice about what to do?

thanks

T. Kalaiselvan, Advocate (Advocate)     05 January 2024

You can file a divorce petition on the grounds of cruelty.

You can file a maintenance case asking for monthly maintenance for you and the child.

If you are able to prove his income with documentary evidences, you may get around 35% of his take home income.

Besides you can claim maintenance under the provisions of DV act too additiobnally.

You can file child custody case for permanent custody. 

Yamini singh   06 January 2024

hi,

thanks for reply and information.

Can I get the maintenance for lifetime or for a certain period since I am married for 9 yrs?

thanks