Demand of past bses electricity dues from transferee

(Querist) 06 September 2019 This query is : Resolved 
Mr. A sold a house to Mr. B on 01.01.2008 and Mr. B sold that house to Mr. C on 01.01.2010. Mr. C got transferred the electricity connection of Mr. B in his name in May 2010, wherein there were no dues and bill was ZERO. Mr. C paid his all electricity bills regularly. Electricity Company raised a demand of Rs. 20,000 in August 2019 as arrear in bill to Mr. C for dues pending of Mr. A pertaining to period from year 2005 to year 2008. Never before this demand/ arrear were raised in electricity bill to Mr. C. This property is in Delhi, so DERC regulations are applicable. Kindly help me with providing any legal case as well to resolve following: 1. Can Electricity Company raise a demand after 12 years, while all these years they did not intimate Mr. C. 2. DERC regulations 2017, 4th Amendment (dt: 24.05.2019) provides as following: (iii) The request for transfer of connection shall not be approved unless all recoverable dues in respect of the concerned connection are fully paid: Provided that once connection is transferred, no dues / arrears shall be recovered from the new consumer. Although these regulations are prospective in nature, isn't it wrong on part of Electricity Company to not intimate demand/dues/arrear for 12 long years. Kindly help. Thanks in Advance.

Read more at: http://www.lawyersclubindia.com/experts/modify_message.asp?entry_id=871879
KISHAN DUTT KALASKAR (Expert) 06 September 2019
Your issue involves so may complicated points to be read in detail with the help of documents. Please consult in person to any of your local legal expert.
kavksatyanarayana (Expert) 06 September 2019
Ji, to me, ask the Electricity Company the complete details of Electricity bills (period - amount-whether paid or not-- action taken if not paid the bill )from the period from the year 2005 to 2008 and why they keep silent for these years using RTI. After getting reply, you consult a local lawyer for further guidance.
Dr J C Vashista (Expert) 07 September 2019
It would be better to consult a local prudent lawyer with relevant records for better appreciation of facts, guidance and proceeding.
However, if you are located in Delhi/NCR and feel so, may contact me (on appointment) at:
Chamber No 647, Lawyer's Chamber Block, Dwarka Courts Complex, New Delhi-110075
Cell # 9891152939 email: majjagdish@yahoo.com or visit: vakil-saab.com
P. Venu (Expert) 07 September 2019
In my understanding, the demand from the Company is not sustainable in law.