Upgrad
LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Varun Chandrasekaran (J.D. )     14 June 2011

Was 2010 Amendment to H. Marriage Act passed by Parliament?

Hello,

I am an American lawyer. 

I have been researching the Hindu Marriage Act, specifically the 2010 Amendment allowing for divorce for irreconciliable differences.

I saw that the Cabinet accepted the 2010 Amendment.

But I do not know if it was passed by Parliament and is now current law.

Can anyone provide an answer of whether Parliament  actually passed the Amendment into the Hindu Marriage Act?

And furthermore, can anyone suggest a website that might have information about this?

Thank you for your help.

- Varun 

Learning

8 Replies

Saurabh..V (Law Consultant)     14 June 2011

@Varun,

This amendment is not yet in effect and yet awaiting to be enacted as law in India. You can send a registered letter to the "Ministry of Law" seeking clarity in this regard.

//peace

/Saurabh.V

Tajobsindia (Senior Partner )     14 June 2011

Originally posted by :Varun Chandrasekaran

"

I have been researching the Hindu Marriage Act, specifically the 2010 Amendment allowing for divorce for irreconciliable differences.

Can anyone provide an answer of whether Parliament actually passed the Amendment into the Hindu Marriage Act?

And furthermore, can anyone suggest a website that might have information about this?

"

@ Author

The Report is annexed in PDF file with this reply mail where you can see out of 9 representations 5 were ours which is the maximum representatives from civil marriage laws representing various gender stakeholders did ever represent before the re. Committee to make headway in pragmatic changes in civil Laws of the nation.

All the best.

Attached File : 85555 186820 24 irbm rajya sabha report 45.pdf downloaded: 209 times

Arup (UNEMPLOYED)     14 June 2011

no, not yet passed. confirmed.

Varun Chandrasekaran (J.D. )     20 June 2011