Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Dr.Toney Teddy Fernandez (Research)     10 January 2012

Unreturned friend loan

Hi Lawerys,

I'm a researcher in UK by profession, two years ago i loaned my friend in india an amount of 50K rupees. I dont have any legal documents regarding this since it was a friendly loan. He said he will return this in an year. Now its two years, i tried talking to him, he asked for 2 more months, but since then he is not responding to email, not answering his phones. All i have is the gmail chat conversations regarding him and me. Also the bank counterfoil showing that the amount was transferred to this account. Is there anyway i can start legal proceedings ?

Learning

5 Replies

sanjay kumar (BE/ LLM in Corporate Laws)     11 January 2012

I think its a tough case. Simple transfer of funds from your bank a/c to his bank a/c cannot be construed as a loan unless there are witnesses who can vouch for you. Because the amount may be anything--a gift, a repayment, a consideration for personal favour etc. which will be difficult for you to counter. Secondly,E-mails are not very definitive proofs unless he has sent  them from his residence or from a place which can be traced to him. E-mails sent from internet cafes and that too using a general email service provider like gmail cannot be so easily attributed to a specific  person in India atleast because anybody can impost any other person.

Dr.Toney Teddy Fernandez (Research)     11 January 2012

Hi Sanjay,

Thanks a lot for your reply. Its a pity that there are no witness for this, But regarding email, i'm quite sure that he sent this from his work place and he is using this email for several years. I realize that my chances are dim.

once again thanks

sanjay kumar (BE/ LLM in Corporate Laws)     11 January 2012

Dr.Fernandez,