Sushil Kumar   01 October 2016

Tax rebates for housing loan

Sirs, For a house loan taken in Oct 2011 and house handed over in march 2017, will the tax rebate limit on interest component be Rs 2 lacs or Rs 30000/-. The builder says there wont be any impact on the tax rebates even when the house has been handed over in the 5th financial year. Some websites suggest the opposite saying the loans raised before 2016 have the limit of Rs 30000/- for rebates. Need help in understanding the correct interpretation of law here.

adv.bharat @ PUNE (Lawyer)     01 October 2016

Sushil JI Maximum limit is 30k for tax rebeat.

If u think it is solution of ur problem then will u give THANK on my profile?

Ms.Usha Kapoor (CEO)     02 October 2016

TAx rebates on interest component under section 80 C of Rs.2 lac + rebate on principal of  about 1.5 lACS UNDER SECTION 24 and an a dditional  amount of Rs..50,000 IF THE CONDITIONS OF THAT SECTIONS ARE MET (SECTION 80 'EE)  a total releif of Rs.4 lakhs  is we can avail.CONSIDERABLE RELEIEF  borrowers are getting IF NOT SUBSTANTIALLY  but considerable TAX RELEIEF. tAX REBATE OF . Rs. 30,000 IS FOR PEOPLE WHO DON;'T BORROW  LOAN  FROM Anyone lender bank or otherwise..  2 LAKH  O RrS. 30,000  whichever is less is  Considerably GOOD. iTS NOT IN TRICKLES BUT GOOD.. SO IT  IS  OK..If you appreciate this  reply please  click the thank you button on this forum.

Ms.Usha Kapoor (CEO)     02 October 2016

TAx rebates on interest component under section 80 C of Rs.2 lac + rebate on principal of  about 1.5 lACS UNDER SECTION 24 and an a dditional  amount of Rs..50,000 IF THE CONDITIONS OF THAT SECTIONS ARE MET (SECTION 80 'EE)  a total releif of Rs.4 lakhs  is we can avail.CONSIDERABLE RELEIEF  borrowers are getting IF NOT SUBSTANTIALLY  but considerable TAX RELEIEF. tAX REBATE OF . Rs. 30,000 IS FOR PEOPLE WHO DON;'T BORROW  LOAN  FROM Anyone lender bank or otherwise..  2 LAKH  O RrS. 30,000  whichever is less is  Considerably GOOD. iTS NOT IN TRICKLES BUT GOOD.. SO IT  IS  OK..If you appreciate this  reply please  click the thank you button on this forum.

SUNDAR   12 October 2016

Helo Sushil,

Home loan taken 2011.  house will be handed over mar 2017.  you are not eligible for interest exemption u/s 24 of IT act, because loan period to house construction period allowed is only 3 years. But  from current finacial year this construction period allowed  is 5 year to avail home loan interest u/s 24 subject to loan sanction after april 2016.