Ashu Sharma (Manager)     07 February 2011

Suicide Act

Request if you can advice that commiting suicide is punishable or not and what will be the punishment for the person who is forcing you to commit suicide.

Looking forward to hear from you soon on the above.

N.K.Assumi (Advocate)     07 February 2011

There is a difference between attempt to commit sucide whch is punishable and death by sucide whch can not be punished, after all you can not punish a death body except that the dead body my not be given a decent burial, but this is also simply a theory and not practicable. But I am also of the opinion that punishment for attempting to commit sucide is not proper.

Arvind Singh Chauhan (advocate)     07 February 2011

Who committs suicide, how can he be punished after death?

But,

Attempt to committe  sucide is punishble with imrisonment of one year or fine or both under Sec 309 IPC.

Forcing or abetting a person for sucide is punishable up to 10 years imprisonment and with fine under Sec 306 IPC.

abhishek (law)     07 February 2011

This is the only offence (suicide) jise pura karne par saja nahi hoti par pura na karne par saja hoti hai..in i.p.c